Win a New Spring Wardrobe from @TheQuiltsofLove | “Maybelle in Stitches” Giveaway!

 

MaybelleInStitches

Maybelle in Stitches

By Joyce Magnin

Maybelle can’t sew. But when she finds an unfinished quilt in the attic of her mother’s house, she gets the crazy idea to complete it. At first, it’s just a way to fill the lonely nights while her husband, staff sergeant Holden Kanzinzki, is away fighting in World War II.

Yet when Maybelle discovers that the quilt is made from scraps of material that can be traced back through her family heritage, the project is suddenly much more important. Then word comes that Holden is missing in action, and with little else to do, Maybelle clings to the quilt as much as to the hope that her husband is still alive. As neighborhood friends gather around Maybelle to help her through the unknown days and nights ahead, it is the quilt that becomes a symbol of her unflagging belief that Holden will return—to her, to their home, and to their quilt-covered bed.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Maybelle in Stitches go HERE.

About the Author

joyce_magnin

I am the author of seven novels. Five adult novels and two middle grade readers. I never wanted to do anything else but write and every day I wake up astonished that I get to do what I always dreamed about. My days are filled with words and images along with the usual family stuff. I have three children, Rebekah who is married to Joshua. They have three of the most adorable boys on the planet, Lemuel, Cedar and Soren. My daughter Emily Kate is a lovely young woman anthropologist and my son Adam is fourteen and a student–he’s a genius who loves frogs and lizards and fish and plants. He amazes me.

I have never eaten a scallop. I love cream soda. Drink way too much coffee. I do not like elevators but I do enjoy needle arts and of course books. I prefer jazz over country (no offense), milk chocolate over dark, but not roller coasters although my life has often resembled a roller coaster ride.

One of my life’s desires is to meet Amy Grant so I can tell her she saved my life.

My Review

I am not usually one for stories set in any war time setting and really hate tragedy.  This book has kept me on my seat and really made me feel the feelings of the characters.  It has sad times and it has happy times. I love the way the quilt relates in this story, to bring it all together. This is a story of love.  It is also a story of Devotion and Faith. I didn’t cry, but I could sure feel the pain and heartache. If your a history lover as I am you will love this story. Also if your military you will love this story too. You may want to get some tissues and it might touch you a little deeper then it did me.  I would recommend this as one of the well put together quilts of love series.  I hope you will give it a try and see just how touching it truly is.

Giveaway

Don’t miss the newest Quilts of Love book, Maybelle in Stitches, by Joyce Magnin. Maybelle can’t sew. But when she finds an unfinished quilt in the attic of her mother’s house, she gets the crazy idea to complete it.

Joyce is celebrating the release with a $200 Modcloth giveaway. Enter today for a chance to spruce up your spring wardrobe!

qol-maybelle-400-click

One winner will receive:

  • A $200 ModCloth.com gift card
  • Scraps of Evidence by Barbara Cameron
  • A Sky Without Stars by Linda S. Clare
  • Maybelle in Stitches by Joyce Magnin

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on April 19th. Winner will be announced on April 21st on the Quilts of Love blog!

Spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via Facebook or Twitter.

I received this book for my honest opinion and have received no further compensation for doing so.

About Faithful Acres Body Soul Spirit

Born Again, Wife, Mamma, Grandmamma, Author, Artist, Life and Health Coach
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Quilts of Love and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

