Women Professing Godliness : It’s Not About You, It’s About Jesus in You !

my mouth graphic carrie daws

As I spent a while thinking on I Timothy 2:10 yet again, its been one of my verses for 13 years now that I keep reading and thinking on. You see many years ago I was asked by my husband to write an article on our website back then called ” Women Professing Godliness “. That was my place to be an older woman and instruct younger women , How to love their husbands, love their children and be a chaste, devout keeper at home.  But also to seek godly holiness in behavior ( character), how I live and carry myself, before God, before my family and before others.  Back then I felt pretty helpless to meet up to the task that Mark was asking of me.

But he said

” Lin, its not about you, its about Jesus in you “

What a profound statement that was in my life.  And he was right, it wasn’t about me or how perfect I could be, it was about letting Jesus Love and perfectness shine through me.  I will be honest, some days I feel like I fail big time…

My attitude isn’t in the right place, I get frustrated and depressed with how the many things in life are going and I loose sight of the ” Goal “.

What was the goal ? and how on earth can I be an example of an older woman having it all together, so that younger women could learn godliness from me ?  I wanted to live a life of holiness before God and everyone.  There are many areas I feel like I fail in, but there is many things I am good at and those areas are the areas where God has given me talents to succeed in.  So here is the goal !

Titus 2: 3 – 5

The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things

That they may teach the younger women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children,

To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to heir own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.

I Tim. 9 – 12

In like manner also, that women adorn themselves in modest apparel, with shamefacedness and sobriety, not with broided hair, or gold, or pearls, or costly array,

But (which becometh women professing godliness) with good works.

Let the woman learn in silence with all subjection

But I suffer not a woman to each, nor to usurp authority over the men, but to be in silence.

OK, so there is the goal straight from the New Testament that deals strictly with women. Keeping in mind that Paul also said 

I Tim. 6: 6

But godliness with contentment is great gain.

There is a lot to be said in these passages but I am going to share what my thoughts were then and now. No they have not changed, they have only become more sure in my heart and mind as to what my goal is…

Today it is still not about me… It is still about Jesus in Me !

If we are indeed Women Professing Godliness, then we need to live as God’s Word says we are to live and not just pick and choose the parts we like and throw out the ones we don’t like.

I am going to share this in several articles I write , hopefully to bless you and help you to see that its really not that hard to attain, even if you feel like you are failing right now.

Today, I want you to mediate on  the verses I shared and that

Its not about you…

” Its about JESUS IN YOU “

Here is a beautiful saying I found online that is so what our thoughts should be.

Enjoy !

The beauty of the house is order;

The blessing of the house is contentment;

The glory of the house is hospitality;

The crown of the house is godliness.

~ Anonymous ~

Blessings

~ Linda ~

graphic was made by Carrie Daws http://www.carriedaws.com

About Faithful Acres Body Soul Spirit

Born Again, Wife, Mamma, Grandmamma, Author, Artist, Life and Health Coach
This entry was posted in Women Professing Godliness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Women Professing Godliness : It’s Not About You, It’s About Jesus in You !

  1. Great post! I don’t think God expects us to be perfect, as long as we keep on trying!

    Like

Leave a Reply

