Parenting With Grace

a193d1bfe1e541544d15598f263a0207

You spend each day wondering if your children will ever see the need in their own lives for the Savior.  Perhaps their words or actions in life you find very saddening.  You surely know that you never treated your parents with disrespect or acted out the way your kids are right ? Maybe its any of the following things that are bothering you as your young people are saying or doing ?

~ Mom, that was you, we don’t want to be like you !

~ But were not tired !

~ Why can’t we wear make up ? ( they are only 10 or 12 years old )

~ I don’t want to change my clothing, I like the way I am dressed !

~ I hate you !

~ I hate my siblings !

~ Your So Old Fashioned !

~ It doesn’t matter how much make up you wear or don’t wear, your still ugly !

 ~ I don’t want to do school !

~ What is wrong with liking boys ?

~ I don’t want to clean my room ! Its clean enough for me !

~ They slammed the door so hard it put the doorknob through the wall again !

~ They said WHAT ?  swore, profaned God’s name…

Yes I hear some of you saying , that child deserves a spanking !  Soap in the mouth ! No Supper !  Loss of something precious to their young minds… ie. TV, tablet, Wii, or going somewhere special…

Isn’t that what your thinking ?

and your saying God’s Word says to spank them… It says He who spares the rod spoils the child… I know all the verses and so do you , I was raised in a Baptist Church, spanked as  a child and I live to tell !!!!  But I also know that at some point spanking when it causes more rebellion, hate and hard feelings, does no good.  Its been so long since I spanked my kids, I can’t  even tell you when the last time was.  I came to a real understanding that, if they couldn’t reason with me and hear my heartache for their lives, it wasn’t going to do a bit of good to spank them.

Do I take away some priviledges ? You bet I do…

The Wii or the Tablet time or TV …. Yup I do.

Do I do  TIME OUT !!! Yes I do… Do we talk a lot about what they are doing wrong and what God expects from them as children ?  Yes we do !!!!

I am so glad that the Father doesn’t always whip my butt for every single thing I do wrong. God has shown me so much Grace and Mercy in my lifetime and I am thankful for that.

As A wise man said to me once ” You cannot beat your kids Souls out of Hell ! “

Yup, I hear you again, but the Bible says it will !

Do you ever think that if we spend more time Nurturing and Admonishing that we might see a change in our children ?

God’s Word says to bring them up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord.

You know what I remember…  I remember knowing that if I was bad or sinned my mom would spank me for it. But I also know that I didn’t tread that path very often. And  I know that there are things my kids do that my own mom probably thinks they deserve a spanking for today… But I am not my mom and I am Myself.  I want my kids to look back and say, You know what Mom, I probably deserved a spanking for that, but I am so glad that you didn’t do that and that you talked to me and got me to see that I was headed the wrong way… and when I went the wrong way Mom, you prayed for me.

That is true today of my older kids.  I still see them clearly running away from life and from God and there is nothing I can do but Pray, Cry, Pray some more… Talk with them and Pray more… It will do no good, to belittle them, make them feel bad or point out their sin…my older kids know when they are sinning and I have sometimes pointed it out to them when they bold faced say…. Things have changed MOM !  That is culture and its changed now !!!

Really ?  My God has not changed !  His Word has not  changed !

Hard !

What is Grace ?

It is receiving something that you really do not deserve, nor have you hearned it.

What is Mercy ?

Isn’t it the putting off of  punishment and showing Grace when someone doesn’t deserve it.

Have you shown your children God’s Grace and Mercy lived out in their lives through your character ?

or have you lost your cool and said something mean in anger ?

Have you shown your kids God’s Love by loving them…

For God so loved…. He gave….  Gave us something we didn’t deserve and that is Life through His Son Jesus, dying for you and me and for our children…

If you lost it… have you told your kids your sorry and hugged them ?

If you kids have emotional issues and act out… loud , yelling, angry MOM isn’t going to make them do whats right.

It might make them ruin your walls , writing hateful things on them.  It might make them put door knobs through walls.

It  may make them want to leave your house to young and make them walk into sin they have no clue is out there.

They may turn to the wrong people, sometimes even family can be the wrong people… Sometime another young person is the wrong person for your daughter or son to turn to.

Have  you asked the Father to show you where you are messing up with your kids and what you can do to make things right with them ?

and if your a godly parent and your kids are still walking down the wrong road or path and you know your doing everything you can do be walking in His ways and living in holiness…

Don’t beat yourself up, PRAY, Seek Gods Face and Keep Praying.

If your kids are in sin, don’t hide it, talk to someone you trust and find a way to Pray through it and get advice that is sound and godly.

And above all else, trust God’s Word and His Promises where it deals with children.

I know where your at …. None of us are perfect parents…

We all need GRACE and MERCY !

Love your children !

and

Pray !

~ Linda ~

About Faithful Acres Body Soul Spirit

Born Again, Wife, Mamma, Grandmamma, Author, Artist, Life and Health Coach
This entry was posted in Parenting, Women Professing Godliness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

